DDEX Events

DDEX hosts a number of events during the year, including webinars and workshops which provide opportunities to learn more about the standards and their implementation and two members-only Plenary meetings in the Spring and Autumn to create and revise the standards themselves. DDEX also speaks regularly at conferences around the world on issues related to metadata.

Webinars provide a comprehensive introduction to each standard and our in-person Implementation Workshops give the opportunity for you to get a detailed read out on each standard, meet DDEX members that have implemented the relevant standards already, pick their brains and learn all the tips and tricks you need for your successful implementation.

Whether you’re interested in a single webinar or all of them, you can register here. Separate links appear below for the Implementation Workshops that are already fixed. Updates and registration links on the others will appear in due course.

Convert UTC to the local time where you are.

27th February: 08:30 GMT (14:00 IST, 17:30 JST, 19:30 AEDT)

Webinar: Learn about the Electronic Release Notification Standard (ERN)

If you deliver music content to a digital service provider (DSP), or handle the intake of these digital files at a DSP, this webinar will familiarise you with how DDEX’s ERN standard which communicates all the information associated with new music releases.

4th March: 16:30 GMT
(17:30 CET, 11:30 EST, 08:30 PST)

Webinar: Learn about the Electronic Release Notification Standard (ERN)

26th March: 16:30 GMT
(17:30 CET, 12:30 EDT, 09:30 PDT)

Webinar: Learn about the Media Enrichment and Description Standard (MEAD)

The ERN standard communicates “core” information about a music release. The new MEAD standard allows for additional categories of information to be associated with a release to help marketing and consumer discovery, such as focus tracks, lyrics, artist nicknames, historic chart positions, and much more. Anyone that supplies such additional information, or wants to optimise music for discovery will get an explanation of the options MEAD can deliver.

20th – 22nd April

Cancelled

36th DDEX Plenary Meeting

Members only: Learn about DDEX Membership

Cupertino, CA

23rd April: 09:00 – 17:00 PDT

Cancelled

The DDEX BIG Summit 2020

Cupertino, CA

24th April: 09:00 – 16:00 PDT

Cancelled

Implementation Workshop: Musical Work Notification (MWN), Musical Work Licensing (MWL) and Letter of Direction (LoD) Standards

These standards are typically used by DSPs and record companies to request information on right share ownership claims and to license musical works from music rights societies, musical work rights administrators and/or music publishers, and for such organisations to provide information, licence and/or licence rejections and notifications of changes of ownership. A must-attend for copyright administrators!

Cupertino, CA

30th April: 08:30 BST
(13:00 IST, 16:30 JST, 17:30 AEST)

Webinar: Learn more about the Digital Sales Report (DSR) and Claim Detail Message (CDM) Standards

The DSR standard communicates information about sales, usage or revenue generated on a digital music retailer service, to the relevant rights owners. The standard is in a flat-file format and once processed enables rights owners to make claims in respect of the works they represent and quantify royalties due. This can be done using one of the formats from the CDM standard. The standard also includes formats to enable DSPs to raise any discrepancies they consider may have arisen in the claim or royalty calculations.

7th May: 16:30 BST
(17:30 CEST, 11:30 EST, 08:30 PST)

Webinar: Learn about the Recording Information Notification Standard (RIN)

The RIN standard is a file format that is a uniform mechanism for capturing, storing and communicating “recording information”. Recording information is any information relating to participants including roles (for example, performers, composers, engineers), creations (for example, musical works), instrumentation (for example, keyboards, violin, bass drum) and equipment information (for example, type of microphones, type of mixing desk).

15th May: 09:00 – 16:00 CDT

Implementation Workshop: Media Enrichment and Description Standard (MEAD)

Nashville, TN

28th May: 16:30 BST
(17:30 CEST, 11:30 EST, 08:30 PST)

Webinar: Learn about the Standards for Music Licensing Companies (MLC)

The MLC standards enable music licensing companies (such as SoundExchange in the US, PPL in the UK, SCPP in France and GVL in Germany) to communicate with music licensing companies in other countries, and for communication between record companies, performers or their representatives. The standards help support the communication of repertoire and revenue information amongst that community.

11th June: 08:30 BST
(13:00 IST, 16:30 JST, 17:30 AEST)

Webinar: Learn about the Recording Information Notification Standard (RIN)

2nd July: 16:30 BST
(17:30 CEST, 11:30 EST, 08:30 PST)

Webinar: Learn about the Claim Detail Message Suite Standard (CDM)

23rd July: 08:30 BST
(13:00 IST, 16:30 JST, 17:30 AEST)

Webinar: Learn about the Standards for Music Licensing Companies (MLC)

10th September: 16:30 BST
(17:30 CEST, 11:30 EST, 08:30 PST)

Webinar: Learn about the Musical Work Notification (MWN), Musical Work Licensing (MWL) and Letter of Direction (LoD) Standards

17th September: 08:30 BST (13:00 IST, 16:30 JST, 17:30 AEST)

Webinar: Learn about the Media Enrichment and Description Standard (MEAD)

24th September: 16:30 BST
(17:30 CEST, 11:30 EST, 08:30 PST)

Webinar: Learn about the Digital Sales Report Standard (DSR)

9th – 12th November

37th Plenary Meeting

Members only: Learn about DDEX Membership

East Coast of North America

13th November: 09:00 – 16:00 EST

Implementation Workshop: Digital Sales Report (DSR) and Claim Detail Message (CDM) Standards

East Coast of North America

We have also put dates aside for October, November and December but would like to hear from you on what subjects these should be about. Feel free to reach out with ideas at info@ddex.net.

Keep up-to-date by joining our mailing list

Join us online